Skip to content

Granting access

Project Owners can grant access to other XNAT users. Give each person the least-permissive role that allows them to complete their work.

Open the project and select the Access tab. Select Add User to add one person or Add Users from List to add several people, then assign each person a role.

Access tab with controls for adding users to a project

  • Owner can create, view, update and delete project data. Owners can also add or remove users and change their roles.
  • Member can create, view and update project data, but cannot delete data or manage access.
  • Collaborator can view and download project data, but cannot add or change data or manage access.

The permissions for each role are summarised below.

Permission Owners Members Collaborators
Data - Create ✓ ✓ ✗
Data - Read/Download ✓ ✓ ✓
Data - Update ✓ ✓ ✗
Data - Delete ✓ ✗ ✗
User - Add/Remove ✓ ✗ ✗
User - Change role ✓ ✗ ✗